General Introduction

Raipur Commissionerate came in to existence in July 1991 as a result of bifurcation of Indore Commissionerate vide notification No. 22/91 (NT) and Trade Notice No. 70/91 dated 18th July 1991. Initially the Commissionerate comprised of 5 divisions namely Raipur, Bhilai, Bilaspur, Jabalpur and Satna. The number of Divisions increased from 5 to 7 due to creation of new divisions viz. Bhilai II and Chhindwara in the year 1994 and 1996 respectively. Consequent upon formation of new Central Excise Commissionerate Indore – II (renamed as Bhopal Commissionerate) in July 1997, Jabalpur and Chhindwara Divisions were excluded from Raipur Commissionerate and merged with Bhopal Commissionerate. Subsequently Satna Division was also excluded from Raipur Commissionerate w.e.f. from 1.11.2002 and merged with the Bhopal Commissionerate. Subseqently after cadre restructuring a separate Bilaspur Comiisionerate was carved out from Raipur Commissionerate.The jurisdiction of Raipur Commissionerate at present extends nearly half of Chhattisgarh state.

Jurisdiction of Raipur Commissionerate:

Raipur Commissionerate coversnearly half  of the State of Chhattisgarh consisting of district of Dantewada, Bastar, Kanker, Kondagaon, Sukma, Dhamtari, Mahasamund, Naraynpur, Bijapur Rajnandgaon, Kawardha (Kabirdham), Bemetara, Balod, Gariaband, Durg and Raipur (excluding the tehsils of Tilda) of the State of Chhattisgarh. For smooth functioning and administrative control the Commissionerate is divided into five Divisions namely  Division-I, Raipur, Division-II, Raipur, Service Tax Division Raipur, Division-I Bhilai, Division-II, Bhilai. Jurisdiction of the Divisions are as under:

1. Division-I, Raipur North: Boundaries of Tilda Tehsil

South: Chhokra Nala from kharun River upto Dhaneli and Bilaspur road from Dhaneli upto Fafadih Chowk, Raipur

East: From Fafadih Chowk to Vidhan Sabha- Baloda Bazar Road from Kutcheri Chowk upto Boundary of Tilda Tehsil

West: Kharun River from Chhokra Nala to Boundary of Dharsiwa Tehsil

2. Division-II, Raipur Entire Districts of Gariyaband, Dhamtari and Kanker, Mahasamund and district Raipur excluding the area covered under Central Excise Division-I, Raipur
3. Service Tax Division Raipur Whole of the Jurisdiction of Central Excise Division-I Raipur and Division-II Raipur
4. Division-I, Bhilai Entire area of M/s SAIL BSP Bhilai, SAIL, Refractory material plant (SRU), Maroda of Durg District and Districts of Rajnandgaon, Bastar, Dantewada, Bijapur, Narayanpur, Sukma & Kondagaon of Chhattisgarh
5 Division-II, Bhilai District of Balod, Bemetara, Kabirdham and District of Durg excluding jurisdiction of Division Bhilai-I



| sitemap | disclaimer | privacy policy |